Internship at Metalworks – Week 4 [16 June to 19 June 2015]

It’s already been one month, and I feel I’ve grown quite fast. I’ve also had the luxury of pushing my learning and going out of my comfort zone. If I were to describe a trend, it’d be spending a week to learn a particular software, and then applying it to a real project. But while I haven’t got a chance to dive into Python or JavaScript, I’ve found real motivation to learn iOS Programming. In our discussions over a project, we realised that we may have to create an app for it to work. I was initially thinking about Android programming, but at Apple’s WWDC, they released a new version of Swift, Swift 2.0, and I found its syntax really accessible, as opposed to Java, so I took it by the horns and dove straight into it. I signed up for this course on Udemy, got a really good discount for it, and went on a 3-day marathon in the week to get the skills necessary to create an Instagram-like app. This week’s post will then be heavily centered around such exploits.

Monday: Day-Off!
Tuesday: Swift (iOS Programming)
Wednesday: Designing, IdeaShow
Thursday: Proposal touch-up, iOS Programming
Friday: Full-on iOS Programming

Where did I start?

There are plenty of resources out there. Apple’s documentation is excellent, but for someone who was new to iPhone development in general, I thought it was good to learn it from someone who has the experience to guide you through the little kinks in building an actual app. So I went to Udemy, and found this course where you can build 14 real-world apps. Apple’s documentation is great as a reference for syntax or to access properties of controllers etc., but nothing beats having to actually build apps from scratch and have a community where you can spot things that are outdated in the tutorial or know why XCode is crashing.

Screen Shot 2015-06-21 at 10.46.28 AM
An example of feedback and discussion on Udemy

How did I approach the online courses?

The teacher Rob Percival always gave viewers the opportunity to stop the video and try it out on our own. And so I did. I took time to break down the structure of the applications and experiment with merging different types of functionality together. I often found myself frustrated by not understanding certain concepts behind controllers, delegates, constraints, closures, and I had to do plenty of searching. This required understanding the problem enough to use the right keywords when searching. Eventually, I also resorted to penning the concepts down:

Notes from Udemy
Notes from Udemy

What it takes is real strength and determination. And also a good environment to learn. Set these up properly and the others will follow.

What have I done so far?

Here are some of the apps I’ve tried:

Screen Shot 2015-06-21 at 1.32.19 PM
Scrapes the web for content, and if you input your city, it tells you the weather for that day             
Tells you the Times Table as you slide the slider across
Tells you the Times Table as you slide the slider across           
Allows the user to toggle an animation On or Off
Allows the user to toggle an animation On or Off                                                                                                                         

Well these aren’t the most mindblowing apps, but come tomorrow, or the day after, I’ll be able to create an Instagram clone, which I hope to use those skills in the next project we have.

What else did I do?

I didn’t just do online courses though. I spent time doing research on the feasibility of some preliminary ideas the company had, and doing some sketches to communicate our ideas to the client. I was also called upon to explain the concept of our earlier project in our ideaShow. If the video is up, I’ll be posting it here too ^^

Hopes for next week

I really hope to get up to speed with my learning and start applying them quickly. I’m also looking forward to seeing the new interns next week! Alright, more updates to come.

One thought on “Internship at Metalworks – Week 4 [16 June to 19 June 2015]

Leave a Reply

